Briar

Briar is the title of another novel I’m currently working on – although this one is in its editing stages. I haven’t been around the blog as much this week due to a sudden burst of inspired editing activity, and as many writers know, once the bug bites you you’d better go with the flow.

Normally I HATE editing. That’s not an exaggeration, either. I can’t stand it. The most I ever do is line-edit, usually. But with this project I feel like it deserves something more, so I’ve been working my butt off to get it moving.

It’s been hard work, don’t get me wrong, but boy does it feel worth it. I’m hoping to get my manuscript out to a few beta readers by the end of the week, and then I guess it’s waiting to hear back before I start the next round of edits.

Still, I’m feeling more inspired than I was a week ago, which is fabulous. And for those of you who are interested, here’s a little peek into what Briar is all about:

Mystery author Diana Collins has been obsessed with Briar House for as long as she can remember. Ever since a six-year old girl died on the property thirty years ago the house has been empty. Rumour has it that the place is haunted, and nobody in town dares step foot inside. And people like it that way.

So when Briar House is finally sold, Diana can’t help but be curious. Especially when she meets Juno, the house’s new owner, and spies an opportunity to find the answers to her questions. Like, who killed Susie Briar? And why will nobody talk about that fateful day?

Diana is drawn to Juno, and soon her quest for knowledge becomes equally about getting to know this enigmatic stranger. But despite Diana’s affection for her new neighbour, not everybody is happy to have a newcomer in town. People don’t want a nosey writer digging up the past – and when Diana and Juno start receiving ghostly threats, and somebody breaks into Juno’s house, Diana starts to realise something…

Asking questions only leads to trouble. And sometimes, it’s best to leave secrets buried.

I’m feeling pretty excited right about now. How about you? What’s keeping you guys burning the midnight oil these days?

2 thoughts on “Briar

  1. Tori says:

    I find it funny that you hate editing because I absolutely love it! Outlining is my least favorite stage of the writing process. Anyway, your novel sounds really interesting. I also like the title “Briar”- it adds mystery of its own while connecting nicely to the story.

    Like

    • franwritesstuff says:

      I couldn’t tell you why I hate it – except of course that it’s probably a confidence thing and I’m sure I’m getting better.

      I’m glad you like the title! I’ve been agonising over it for ages, so that’s really reassuring.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

